Tags

, , , ,

The decision to fight to the death by the last few remaining French soldiers was made in a context of a battlefield. Perhaps these soldiers had been on such a battlefield before with such a real possibility and then faced death down. But probably they had not been in the shadow of such certain doom. I have faced death as a real possibility due to circumstances that I cannot control, but I lived. I might have missed out on the past 8 years of life which have been packed with wonderful personal growth, graduations and grandkids. When would I choose death? Certainly I would die to save a loved one, and probably even to accompany a loved one into death. Most likely I would die for other friends and strangers if it meant that I could protect them. But such choices are rarely if ever mine and therefore only exist in my virtual world. There is a clearer reality.

Greater love has no man than this: to lay down his life for his friends (John 15:13).

See this excerpt from Oswald Chambers “utmost” website:

It is much easier to die than to lay down your life day in and day out with the sense of the high calling of God. We are not made for the bright-shining moments of life, but we have to walk in the light of them in our everyday ways.

Whether it is 40 years or 4 minutes, I will die, How I lay down my life is completely my choice! To create and implement plans for loving people well. To get excited about moments of joy with another person. To walk in the light of reality in this illusion of circumstance. Reality of God, reality of relationship, reality of life with God in relationship.

Better questions: Who have  I loved in these past eight years? Who will I lay my life down for? What high calling do I have today?

