Tags

, , , , , ,

T. S. Eliot it seems lamented his  own life as he became old because he viewed himself as a hodgepodge of different parts that did not comprise a whole. He felt that he could not be forgiven because there was no distinguishable real “he.” I know the feeling and see the danger in a bustling world where the middle class scurries for pleasure and leisure, with spiritual comfort taken alongside to fill in the gaps. The danger is to no longer be real: as I try to assimilate the jewels and moments and the reputations of this life, I may lose consciousness of my eternal identity.

Habits have consequences to my perception of reality. They are not merely external. A compulsion to impress others can lead me into fragmented and ultimately vaporous existence. Interaction should be driven by a genuine care for another soul, not by some needy demand for approval. I am a whole person created in God’s image to worship and enjoy Him forever. Basking in this reality, I must let go of financial wealth-building scheming and vacation visioning and present-moment demand for immediate comfort and approvals. But because of my reality as a whole person, I can walk in long-suffering with open eyes and ears, and a  grateful heart for what comes, engaging with power of the real.

Lord, today wash my eyes clean that I might perceive (1) myself as your simple but whole child, and (2) others without judgments and expectations. Renew my mind in wholeness for what is real with a focus on center purpose of celebration with, of and for You.

