Tags

,

The supreme happiness of life consists in the conviction that one is loved; loved for one’s own sake—let us say rather, loved in spite of one’s self; this conviction the blind man possesses.

God is this love, demonstrated when He touched the earth with His feet, the cross with His hands, and as to one untimely born, me.

Here the two themes of this chapter converge. Jean was loved by the bishop in spite of himself. The bishop was loved by his sister in his own blindness. Jean Valjean sought his own appointment with love, ready in season with a good work and not missing an opportunity. All of these were manifestations of God’s transforming love.

I thrill that Jean gave up all his ambition to become the servant of Fantine’s baby girl, having been transformed so powerfully by the love God. That transformation which happened so precipitously awakening him from a life of selfish stupor. But I thrill also that his transformed demeanor supplied him constant watchfulness and enthusiasm for good works. How many opportunities I miss in the stupor. Lord, infuse me with the knowledge of your love. Let me taste of the appreciation and gratitude for Christ’s love.

