Who is this that darkens counsel by words without knowledge? Job 38:2

I saw myself on video recently speaking at my son’s wedding reception. Then came an uncomfortable realization that, when viewed from the outside, I am not what I look like from the inside. I remember what I was thinking only a few months ago when the video was recorded, and yet the external appearance lends to such a different judgment. Let’s confess some selfish motivation. I want people to enjoy being around me. I want to be comfortable. I want to be respected for my competence. I want to be needed. To dwell upon these selfish relational needs leads to a place where reality and perception diverge. That’s why seeing myself objectively can be so surprising. Tholomyes has a smooth tongue and a quick mind, but his words are without knowledge. People often talk to hear themselves; whether there is knowledge or not, the purpose is selfish. There are some easily identifiable characters who have no clue about these dynamics. Beyond ourselves, we are Invited to join a higher chorus with the angels who were created to speak and sing about the Glory of the Son. His Kingdom shall have no end and we can choose to use our voices in this world to resonate along with His purpose of redemption: even in simple office coffee conversation. For what purpose do you speak?

